IPL another name of exhilaration, thrill, or whatever that excites you to jump off in the air to cheer up for your favorite players. If you are an IPL fan (like me), then you know how much full of excitement, thrill, and emotions are rushing for this tournament. But if you’re not an IPL fan, then I’d say after getting to know about IPL, you will surely turn out to be the next “junkie” in the list of the “IPL” fan.

IPL began in the year 2008, but very few cricket enthusiasts know that before IPL, The Indian Cricket League (ICL) founded in the year 2007 by Kapil Dev and Kiran More sponsored by Zee Entertainment Enterprises that organized between 2007 and 2009 in India. BCCI snubbed this league and told performers that if they will participate in ICL, then there is no room for them in BCCI tournaments. It got terminated in the year 2009. That T20 tournament was entailing World XI, Indian, Bangladeshi, and Pakistani players. Late in the year 2008 BCCI and Lalit Modi came with a related idea, and that was IPL.

Have you ever thought who have brought the Idea of “IPL”? In the USA, Lalit Modi had been awe-struck by the enormous revenues of the American sports leagues like “NBA” or “Barclays premier league.” In 1995, he offered his idea for a new 50-over tournament to BCCI. He even listed a name – Indian Cricket League Limited – for the planned league.

In India, cricket is like religion to be followed by every age group of people. Nowhere in the world, you will see the passion for this game as it is the most-watched as well as majorly played games in India as compared to the other sports of the country. Yeah, absolutely. Cricket is more than a religion. It’s a sacrosanct sanctified thing in our country. For many decades cricket has changed many people around the country.
Let me make you sure why cricket is more than a religion. We say cricket is a religion only because we respect it, we appreciate it, we worship it.

Here are some of the interesting facts about IPL Teams:

Chennai Super Kings is the only team in IPL that has never replaced its captain. One of the most consistent teams in this league is known to be the “CSK.” As an IPL fan, I’d say this is a team to cheer on in any tough situation.

In IPL, Delhi Daredevils is one team that had never reached the IPL Final. This year (2020), I’m keeping the high hopes for Delhi to lift the trophy this time to end the defeating streak of not raising the cup finally. Let’s see what happens this season.

Kings XI Punjab is the single team that has changed its captain 11 times in 11 seasons of IPL. For me, I’d say this is the most underrated or unluckiest team of the league ever from the start.

Kolkata Knight Riders sustain the record for maximum consecutive wins in a single season of IPL. In 2014, KKR won 9 matches consecutively. The year 2014 was and will be remembered for KKR for a very long time by IPL fans. The season has changed the picture of the “KKR.”

Royal Challengers Bangalore sustains the record for making the highest and the lowest notch in an IPL game. The highest score–263/5 against Pune Warriors in 2013. Lowest Score–49 against Kolkata Knight Riders in 2017. I can’t say anything about this team of great legends. I hope the year 2020 will break the myth of fortunes for “RCB.”

Some Facts About IPL Players:

Virat Kohli sustains the record of maximum runs in one IPL Season. He has completed 973 runs in IPL 2016. He was phenomenal in that season; they shocked even the fans to see those performances live.

Chris Gayle sustains the record for most centuries in IPL (6). One of the scariest nightmares for the bowlers in a current era of cricket when he is on the song no force can stop him from reaching the pinnacle of cloud nine. Chris Gayle also sustains the record for several sixes by a batsman in IPL history. Again, he is best in business to entertain anyone. He has hit 292—sixes in 112 Matches.

K. L. Rahul sustains the record of reckless 50 (in 14 balls), and Chris Gayle supports the history of reckless 100 (in 30 balls) in IPL. People love watching them with those top-notch batting knocks. There is hard to compare these two when they bat in this format.

Praveen Kumar had pitched the maximum number of dot balls in the saga of IPL. He has pitched 1075 dot balls in 119 Games. For me, he is best in swing bowler in the last 15 years. Remarkably, Praveen Kumar is also the bowler who has bowled the first-ever over in IPL.

Dale Steyn sustains the record of the highest number of dot balls in a single IPL Season. In 17 games, he has bowled 212 dot balls out of 407 shots in IPL 2013. The best bowler of this era, undoubtedly.

Shaun Marsh turns out to be the first orange cap holder in the inaugural season (2008) of IPL. He completed 616 runs in 11 matches, including 5 fifties and one hundred in IPL 2008. He’s one of the finest left-handers in a modern-day game with the accuracy and technique of placing the ball.

Sohail Tanvir turns out to be the first purple cap holder in the inaugural season (2008) of IPL. He has taken 22 wickets in 11 matches with an economy rate of 6.46. We bless the Pakistani team to have left-arm fast, bowlers, and tough to face in the world with pace and swing. Here is another one on the list called Sohail Tanvir.

Brad Hogg is the oldest player in the saga of IPL. He was 45 aged when he last performed for KKR in IPL 2016. The famous “china man” style bowling people love to copy him in their childhoods. For me, watching him bowling to India in world cup 2003 was the moment to remember for a very long time. Those sharp turns with inswing and outswing abilities are nothing more than the gifted ability he has to make batsman chuckle between the deliveries.

Aaron Finch turns out to be the first foreign player who plays for 6 IPL franchises. He has performed for Rajasthan Royals, Delhi Daredevils, Pune Warriors, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Mumbai Indians, and Gujarat Lions. In IPL 2018, he is playing for Kings XI Punjab. The dangerous hard hitter for Australia from opening the inning for Australia. Once he goes on, no one can stop him from exploring like a big match runner for the team.

David Warner sustains the record for most half-centuries in IPL (36). After his return to test cricket from the ban, he has earned respect from cricket fans a lot more than after this debut.

Still, by the two-year suspension from the IPL, CSK has moved the final six times, maximum by any team in the saga of IPL. CSK is one team that qualified playoffs in every season of the IPL (except for two years because of the ban). Fascinatingly, Chennai Super Kings also lost four times in IPL final.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here