West Indies Tour Of Bangladesh 2021

After the complete disaster performance against New Zealand in both T20ls and Test Match Series as they have been white-washed in both the formats convincingly by the hosts (New Zealand). West Indies is all set for yet another compact series in the first half of 2021 against Bangladesh. The home team (Bangladesh) will host 2 tests matches (red-ball games) and 3 white-ball games (ODIs).

The test series will be part the ICC Test Championship 2019-21 (the points will added into the respective teams after every win in the test match) while the ODI series will be part of ICC Cricket World Super League 2020-22 (the same point system will be followed in ODI series like test series). While there were the T20ls games to included in this tour but during the later phase when the cricketing world has been hit the virus called “covid-19”.

West Indies board has decided to not have the T-20l series on the tour and also reduced one test match from 3-match test series (West Indies board also appealed to not have 3-Test Matches). While the Cricket West Indies board has approved the tour with their words –

“The Board of Directors of Cricket West Indies (CWI) has approved in principle the tour of Bangladesh, subject to the finalisation of the medical and logistical details within the tour Memorandum of Understanding (MOU),” CWI said in an official statement.

“CWI will continue discussions with the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) and the West Indies Players’ Association (WIPA) to fine-tune the various arrangements in order to ensure the health and safety of the players and team management unit,” the statement from CWI said.

The squads for the ODI and Test Match Series are yet to be announced from both the boards. West Indies will also play the two practice matches on the tour one before the start of (1-day warm match) ODI series and other one before the start of (4-day warm up match) Test Series. West Indies have to analyse how to save their test status after absurd performance in New Zealand they have to understand the T20l format is complete different from ODI and red-ball cricket (Test cricket).

It’s hard to say but it is same Cricket nation from where players like Brian Lara and Shivnarine Chanderpaul have played or in the 70s to 80s they had most complete team with the likes of Andy Roberts, Malcolm Marshall, Micheal Holding and Clive Lloyd who even opposition had thought for once to lock horns with such was the “fear and aura” of great West Indian Cricketers who have represented this nation. But with the current team it is complete absurd from batting to bowling then even the captain with no vision.


ODI Series –

1st ODI – 20 January, Dhaka (D/N)

2nd ODI – 22 January, Dhaka (D/N)

3rd ODI – 25 January, Chittagong (D/N)

Test Series –

1st Test – 3-7 February, Chittagong

2nd Test – 11-15 February, Dhaka

For More Sports Related News Follow Us On: FacebookTwitterYoutube, and on our Website.

Related articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share article

Latest articles


Subscribe to stay updated.